Go Back   6th Gen Accord DIY and Performance Forums > The Garage > Accord Tech

Accord Tech Anything tech-related that doesn't necessarily fit in the other forums. CEL Codes, torque specs, etc all go in here

Register to remove these ads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-24-2008, 11:58 PM
Hovjm23 Hovjm23 is offline
Member
Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0
Hovjm23 is an unknown quantity at this point
4,000 rpm rev limiter

I have a 98 ex and recently installed a couple subs and amps. But the problem is, after the installation, my Accord wouldn't rev past 4,000 rpm (actually around 3,700-3,800). If feels like a rev limiter, and I have no idea what the problem is. The person who installed it for me even backtracked with me through every step he took. We're stumped.

And, yes, I searched. I do not believe my oil is low, but I am going to change it soon nonetheless. I do not have a CEL or any other light on. I read somewhere that my problem is caused by the engine being in "safe mode." Someone help please.

UPDATE

Sorry about being gone for so long. But I do have an update. I took your advice, Blacknight, and took my 6th gen to the dealer.

Long story short, it was my 2P connector or something. They did not find voltage from my 2P connector to my oil pressure switch. They repaired a wiring harness. Everything works fine now.

Of course, this was a couple of months ago.

Last edited by Hovjm23; 08-14-2008 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2008, 12:03 AM
BlkCurrantKord's Avatar
BlkCurrantKord BlkCurrantKord is offline
Senior Member


Points: 38,021, Level: 60 Points: 38,021, Level: 60 Points: 38,021, Level: 60
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ohio
Age: 31
Posts: 8,836
Rep Power: 102
BlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit togetherBlkCurrantKord has their shit together
Send a message via AIM to BlkCurrantKord
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

Did you blow a fuse somewhere?
__________________
Originally Posted by LoveLee
I would love a mushroom stamp after I pass the CPA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2008, 12:05 AM
Hovjm23 Hovjm23 is offline
Member
Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0
Hovjm23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

He checked the fuses and they were all good.

Thanks for the quick reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2008, 12:36 AM
oodie oodie is offline
Senior Member
Points: 2,409, Level: 13 Points: 2,409, Level: 13 Points: 2,409, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lynchburg VA
Posts: 264
Rep Power: 28
oodie is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

Sounds weird nothing to do with system but check your oil.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:41 AM
Hovjm23 Hovjm23 is offline
Member
Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0
Hovjm23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

My oil seems normal, but I will be changing it within the next two weeks.

Any other suggestions? This is extremely annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:53 AM
AlbanianCord99's Avatar
AlbanianCord99 AlbanianCord99 is offline
Member
Points: 1,858, Level: 12 Points: 1,858, Level: 12 Points: 1,858, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 72
Rep Power: 27
AlbanianCord99 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

it might be your fuel pump, fuel filter. i fixed it before. my car used to bug out at 2 and a half. Took out the filter and cleanned it up, put it back together and now im reddddlining. yeah
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:52 AM
kn0x47's Avatar
kn0x47 kn0x47 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 19,766, Level: 42 Points: 19,766, Level: 42 Points: 19,766, Level: 42
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,400
Rep Power: 48
kn0x47 is more helpful than mostkn0x47 is more helpful than most
Member Photo Albums
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

this is purely a guess but you could try back tracking the power wire under the dash and in the engine bay to make sure it isnt in the way of anything or something was bumped and not on tightly. also make sure you amp power wire and fuse arent too close to the distributor cap- the current can jump but thatd probably blow the fuse for ur amps. my other guess would be to make sure the polarity is correct for ur amps (power wire isnt to ground).
you might need to reset the computer - disconnect the battery ground for 5 to 10 mins (you can hold down the brake for a lil while to speed up the discharge i believe) then hook it back up and see if it runs right again. but like i said, this is purely a guess, i really dont know.
hope you get it fixed
__________________

LIKE MY FACEBOOK PAGE AND THIS ONE TOO

: Flickr : Facebook : Tumblr :
OEM Full Lip Kit Club #008 | DSLR Club #069
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2008, 07:20 PM
Hovjm23 Hovjm23 is offline
Member
Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0
Hovjm23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

I'm going to try everything recommended in this thread, and I'll continue to search around for an answer. Most of what I've seen so far is oil related, but I don't know.

I'd greatly appreciate any other suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:38 PM
Hovjm23 Hovjm23 is offline
Member
Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12 Points: 1,959, Level: 12
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 0
Hovjm23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

I found out it was a P1259 at Autozone.

I did some searching and found out the only things that I can really do it taking it to the dealer, changing the oil, or cleaning the gunk around the Vtec solenoid. I'm changing the oil soon, but I was wondering, what is this solenoid and how do I remove it to clean the stuff around it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:44 PM
simplesedan99's Avatar
simplesedan99 simplesedan99 is offline
Senior Member
Points: 5,959, Level: 22 Points: 5,959, Level: 22 Points: 5,959, Level: 22
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: atlanta, georgia
Age: 23
Posts: 449
Rep Power: 32
simplesedan99 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to simplesedan99
Re: 4,000 rpm rev limiter

i had this exact problem the guys at honda said there wasnt enough oil to allow vtec to engage or somethin bout the oil pressure wasnt enough so all they did was fill it back up with oil and problem fixed
__________________

4 Doors are Like Mullets..Business in the Front, Party in the Rear:leeann:

90% of ppl are bringing sexy back...We're in the 10% that never lost it....6GA FTMFW!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Featured Ride
Congratulations to Judy for winning 6GA's August/September ROTM. Click the picture below for more pictures as well as an exclusive interview with the winner!



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3